Biology Student Talks about Research Project on E. coli

Mary-Zitta Muabe

Marian University student and McNair scholar, Mary-Zitta Muabe, shares some aspects of conducting her research project for the McNair Scholars Program. She has worked in Marian University’s biology lab.

What did you work on for your Summer Research Experience (SRE)?

My experiment this summer involved investigating the absolute time during desiccation when Escherichia coli (E. coli) on spinach leaves first hits stationary phase and thus expresses the master gene regulator, RpoS.

How do you feel your research experience went?

Considering that it took me three trials with a constant readjustment of my protocol to finally get a handle of it, I would say it went alright. In addition, working with a difficult media such as spinach leaf caused some difficulties, but overall the experiment went well.

How did you enjoy the experience?

As a young scientist, it gives me pride to work with an experiment of such magnitude; not much is talked about or even known about E. coli on spinach leaves so I know I was doing something important in my work.

What have you learned about conducting a full-scale research project?

I have several things in completing my research. The first is to think and plan in advance; this can save a lot of troubles. Second, recognize that mistakes are highly probable, but if you should get it wrong the first time, don’t be afraid to ask questions to correct the mistake.

How did your SRE meet your initial expectations?

It was more challenging and demanding than I anticipated, but definitely a rewarding experience.

What were some of the surprising discoveries you made?

The desiccation curve for spinach leaf compliments that of beach sand, but on a much slower past/larger scale.

What do you hope to accomplish next?

I hope to develop an extension of my current research experience to conduct a protein analysis.

Mary-Zitta Muabe, of Oshkosh, Wis., is a senior majoring in Biology at Marian University. She has been conducting her research projects under the guidance of her research mentor,  Susan Bornstein-Forst, Ph.D., a professor of Biology at Marian University.

Leave a comment